PROPHET MUHAMMAD HAD AUTHORITY TO MAKE HIS OWN LAWS ?

ALLAH DIDN’T ASSIGN ANY AUTHORITY TO PROPHET MUHAMMAD FOR MAKING LAWS

With grave tone Almighty ALLAH frequently reminded us that the authority of legislation in Islam belongs to HIM ONLY. HE is our Master and all of us, including all the Prophets and Messengers are HIS servants.

None of us has the upper hand to share or add or supplement laws with the laws of Almighty ALLAH. This is equally applicable to all the Prophets and the messengers. Almighty ALLAH clarifies:

12:40 “What you serve besides Him are nothing except names which you have created, both you and your fathers, Allah has not sent down any authority for such. The judgment ‘HUKUMAH’ is for none except Allah. He has ordered that none be served except He. That is the true system, but most of the people do not know.”

18:26 Say: “Allah is fully aware how long they remained, to Him is the unseen of the heavens and the earth, He sees and hears. They do not have besides Him any ally, and He does not share in His judgment ‘HUKUMAH’ with anyone.”

6:57 Say: “I am on a clarity from my Lord and you have denied it. I do not have what you hasten towards; the judgment ‘HUKUMAH’ is with Allah only; He narrates the truth, and He is the best decider.”

That is the very reason Almighty ALLAH didn’t assign any authority to Prophet Muhammad for making laws for the Muslims, rather HE instructed the Prophet to follow the Quran and to rule the people according to the legislation as found in the Quran:

6:50 Say: “I do not say to you that I possess the treasures of Allah, nor do I know the future, nor do I say to you that I am an angel. I MERELY FOLLOW WHAT IS INSPIRED TO ME.” Say: “Are the blind and the seer the same? Do you not think?”

7:203 And because you do not bring them a sign, they say: “If only you had brought one.” Say: “I ONLY FOLLOW WHAT IS INSPIRED TO ME from my Lord. This is an evidence from your Lord, and a guide and mercy to a people who believe.”

10:15 And when Our clear revelations were recited to them, those who do not wish to meet Us said: “Bring a Quran other than this, or change it!” Say: “It is not for me to change it of my own accord, I MERELY FOLLOW WHAT IS INSPIRED TO ME. I fear, if I disobeyed my Lord, the retribution of a great Day!”

46:9 Say: “I am no different from the other messengers, nor do I know what will happen to me or to you. I ONLY FOLLOW WHAT IS INSPIRED TO ME. I am no more than a clear warner”.

5:48 And We have sent down to you the Book with the truth, authenticating what is between your hands of the Book and guarding it. SO JUDGE BETWEEN THEM BY WHAT ALLAH HAS SENT DOWN, and do not follow their desires from what has come to you of the truth. For each of you We have made laws, and a structure; and if Allah had willed, He would have made you all one nation, but He tests you with what He has given you; so strive to do good. To Allah you will return all of you, and He will inform you regarding that in which you dispute.

5:49 AND JUDGE BETWEEN THEM BY WHAT ALLAH HAS SENT DOWN, and do not follow their desires, and beware lest they divert you away from some of what Allah has sent down to you. If they turn away, then know that Allah wants to inflict them with some of their sins; and many of the people are wicked.

Nowhere Prophet Muhammad was authorized by Allah to make his own laws.

This entry was posted in MISCONCEPTIONS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

