ARE THERE ANY EXTRA CONDITIONS THAT APPLY TO THAT?
Allah Says in the Quran
5:5 (part): “This day are (all) things good and pure made lawful for you. The food of the People of the Book is lawful for you, and yours is lawful for them.”
If the below five conditions are met, the food served by the People of the Book will be termed halal for the believers.
1. The animal itself should be halal according to Quran. (Even if a Muslim were to slaughter swine, it will not make it halal).
2. The one who slaughters the animal must either be a Muslim, or a Jew or a Christian. If any other person slaughters the animal, it will not be considered halal.
3. The animal has to be slaughtered and the blood should be oozed out naturally. It does not matter if the animal is slaughtered by hand or by a machine, from the front of the neck or from the back. What is important is that the veins must be cut to allow the blood to be oozed out of the body.
4. The animal should have been alive at the time of slaughter. It is a routine in most slaughterhouses in the West, that they electrocute or sting the animal with an electric shock, and then slaughter the animal. That is fine, as long as one is satisfied that the electric shock did not kill the animal before its slaughter!
5. THE CONDITION THAT ALLAH’S NAME HAS TO BE PRONOUNCED IS NOT A CONDITION FOR THE PEOPLE OF THE BOOK, AS LONG AS NOBODY ELSE’S’ NAME IS PRONOUNCED. If anybody else’s name other than Allah is pronounced at the time of slaughter, it does not matter who slaughters the animal, the meat is haram.
The flesh of chicken and cattle are lawful as food unto the believers, provided the animal is duely slaughtered according to the conditions which are:
1. The one who slaughters the ‘lawful’ animal must be amongst the believers, or from amongst the People of the Book.
2. The animal should be alive at the time of slaughter.
3. The animal should be duely slaughtered and the blood oozed out naturally.
Even if the animal in its essence is lawful (like chicken or cattle, etc.), but if even one of the below listed conditions are violated, that flesh would be absolutely forbidden for the believers to consume as food:
1- The one who slaughters the lawful animal is neither a Muslim, nor a Christian, nor a Jew.